Georgian Legal Aid Service

Georgian Legal Aid Service is a coordinating body of the legal aid system that is functioning by the state funding with the primary purpose to ensure effective free legal service in the country. Georgian Legal Aid Service fulfils its functions though its administrative staff, 11 legal aid bureaus, 3 consultation centers and the register of contracted public lawyers.

Through its bureaus and consultation centers the Legal Aid Service covers Tbilisi, Mtskheta Mtianeti, Kakheti, Kvemo Kartli, Shida Kartli, Samtskhe-Javakheti, Imereti, Racha-Lechkhumi, Samegrelo, Guria and Adjara regions.   

The Legal Aid System reform was initiated in 2005 and its specificities have been defined by the strategy of criminal law legislation reform elaborated with the support of the European Commission. In July 2007, the Parliament of Georgia adopted the Law on Legal Aid that turned to be the new stage of the reform. On the basis of the Law, the Legal Aid Service has been created within the administration of the Ministry of Justice. Since February 2009 the Service was moved under subordination of the Ministry of Corrections and Legal Assistance.

Lawyers from the Legal Aid Service protect interest of all accused and convicts during pre-trial investigation and court proceeding. Furthermore, all citizens can apply to consultation centers in legal aid bureaus and receive quality legal aid on interesting for them issues.    

More information about the Georgian Legal Aid Service can be found here